Bougainvillea Blossoms

A bougainvillea bush finds root deep in my throat

Wild and reaching, spreading and climbing

through my mouth, pressing for release

If I am cautious, I can gently part two lips

to allow only blossoms to spill forth

A riot of fuchsia flowers formed of folded tissue

Laid at your feet like an offering

But, tired, I forget my firm control

Over that wild weed of a tongue

And release, letting the rest pour forward

Jabbing branches, thousands of pricking briers

Burning beauty easier to admire from afar

than embrace

 

Photo Credit: Bougainvillea by Roberto Verzo on Flickr; used under Creative Commons License.
2 thoughts on “Bougainvillea Blossoms

Leave a Reply

