Villains

In creative writing class

Professor Herring stressed

villains must be nuanced

if they are to be accepted

believed

embraced

by the discerning reader

 

No one is pure evil

even Hitler loved a kitten

once

 

And I thought of my villains

David- Clubber of baby seals and other fat things.

Mike- Whiskey fueled cruelty and self-serving lusts.

Natasha- Hissing, “I’m going to kill you and your mother, you fat fuck.”

Shawn- Glassy eyes gazing right through me until night fell.

 

And-

Call it vengeance-

But I would not

I could not

Allow them any nuance

Reserving this grace

for the scoundrels

of my fiction

 

And-

O!

it tasted delicious

like power

finally

in my hands.

 

Leave a Reply

